Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Cuckoo's Nest. We'd love to have your feedback!

Old Saybrook

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

Which dish or item did you try?

You are submitting your information to Cuckoo's Nest and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. By submitting, you agree to the Popmenu and .

Our Latest Reviews

Catherine 3 days ago

Grilled Fish Tacos

Best fish tacos ever! Add a classic house margarita and "Ole"! Cuckoo's Nest NEVER disappoints! Bravo for the job they are doing doing for an organized takeout process as well!

Samantha 12 days ago

Abuela Juanita's Surf & Turf

Delicious! The beef was tender and perfectly cooked and the polenta was creamy and perfect balance to the dish. Not to mention the sauce was full of fresh flavor. Too bad its only a special cause I'm already wanting to eat it again.

Nate 14 days ago

Dinner Combinations

I get this on my birthday every year and it has become a tradition. This is the most delicious mexican food I have ever had the pleasure of eating. This deal is by far the best way to try a few different items and find your favorite!

Erva 25 days ago

Fajitas Bar

Cuckoos Nest is becoming a favorite of the whole family We often have "Taco Tuesday "in old saybrook. When I ask My grandchildren where would you like to eat tonight?? There is a resounding Cuckoo, Cuckoo! It's a family tradition!!! It's wonderful!!'

Janice 26 days ago

Chicken & Steak* Combo

What's better than a sizzling chicken and steak fajitas combo? Never disappoints. Add a margarita and it's perfect. Love the Cuckoo's Nest!

James about 1 month ago

Cajun Prime Rib*

FABULOUS DISH !❤️

Pelcharm about 1 month ago

Cajun Style

We love this restaurant so much that we drive an hour from Springfield, Ma a couple times a month. The Cajun Gumbo is the BEST around. Service is great

Maria about 2 months ago

Kid Quesadilla

Na

Micheleurban about 2 months ago

Chimichanga Grande

My family and I come once a year to the beach and we always make sure to come to the CooCoo nest for dinner! They have the best Mexican food! I love the Chimichanga!

Christine 2 months ago

Tamale

Delicious

Daniinobitz 2 months ago

Buffalo Chicken

This is one of my favorite places in all of the shoreline! the Aesthetic and the outside is just beautiful, while the menu is delicious. I have never gotten something I don't like from here. They have the BEST chips and salsa (I crave it every day), and don't even get me STARTED on the fried ice cream. if I could come here every day I would!

Shelbs1972 2 months ago

Mexskins

Not sure why ive never thought of this but FANTASTIC!!! Going back for dinner!!!!

Fisher 3 months ago

Burrito

the cheeze burritto is fantastic the best by far

Katerose1988 3 months ago

Chicken or Steak Quesadillas

This place is the best

Troy 3 months ago

Cajun Gumbo

All the food was amazing. This gumbo was as good as the one I had in New Orleans.

Josephpcanney 3 months ago

Burrito Grande

Phenomenal! Some of the best mexican food i've had in all of Connecticut!

Ccbimo 4 months ago

Chimichanga Grande

I have been coming here for 25 years! Our childhood routine was driving from Trumbull to Old Saybrook, hangin with fam all day on the beach, heading home to clean up then right to Cuckoos! A real classic, crowd pleaser, fun and inviting place to go. I hope it's there forever!

Jen8280 4 months ago

Cajun Chicken & Penne Pasta

This is my favorite dish, Its creamy and spicy, but not too spicy, it's just right!

Bikeit 4 months ago

Southwestern Caesar Salad

We started with the grilled cheese quesadilla and were pleased we had grilled chicken added to it as the chicken was freshly grilled and plentiful throughout each piece. Homemade salsa is the best and is provided complimentary. For entree had shrimp added to the SW Caesar Salad and it was grilled to perfection with a light blackening and an abundance of large shrimp. The salads are obviously made fresh and the combination of beans, corn and addition of red onions made it a delicious meal with house made creamy garlic dressing that compliments the artisan fresh parmesan cheese lightly grated over the top. The numerous selections on the menu make it difficult to choose an entree and there is plenty for non mexican food lovers to enjoy.

Bonniebessoni 4 months ago

Cajun Chicken & Penne Pasta

I absolutely LOVE this dish! The creamy Cajun sauce is so delicious. I always have a hard time deciding because this dish is my favorite but I love love love their nachos as well. Both of my kids love their kids menu so it makes it so easy when we order from Cuckoos Nest to get things my whole family will love!

Teresa 7 days ago

Grilled Fish Tacos

My Favorite thing on the menu!

Jim 13 days ago

Cajun Prime Rib*

Excellent flavor and very tender.

Stephanie 20 days ago

Connecticut Nachos

Been coming to this place since I can remember.ALWAYS get these nachos! The cheese and beans are out of this world!

Deboneil04 25 days ago

Acapulco Taco Salad

I love everything on the menu! I haven't been since covid started and this is the place I miss the most in my old world. Gonna try to put big.girl.pants on and come to cucks this week!

Alanneri83ktr 28 days ago

Cajun Garlic Shrimp & Scallops

So delicious, I get this dish every time I dine here, sometimes I start to dream about it if I haven't had it in a while. The sauce is perfect!

Bryan about 1 month ago

Enchiladas

Easily the best mole sauce I've ever tasted outside of Texas. I'm amazed it's this good in New England. My wife kids that I can't not get them. (There is some truth to that.)

Heather about 1 month ago

Pasta Jambalaya

This is one of my favorite dishes at the Cuckoos Nest. It is a little spicy and the chicken, sausage and shrimp are plenty to love and share.

Garcia about 2 months ago

Chicken or Steak Quesadillas

Always hot and fresh food. Love the quesadillas with their salsa. Nothing better to have on a take out night!

Pat about 2 months ago

Tacos Al Pastor

Mary Jane I have not eaten here yet but in general I have noticed (since Covid) most take out has not been up to par. I wouldn't give up on a place you've never been dissatisfied with up until this time. Just my opinion.

Kpmoran95 2 months ago

Street Tacos (3)

The street tacos were great! I got chicken, steak, and my favorite: carnitas. The chips and salsa there are so good! Everything tasted great and the service was awesome. We love coming here.

Irishturtles 2 months ago

Blackened Whitefish

Simply fantastic... great food and great service...

Dreems30 3 months ago

Tequila Lime Shrimp Tacos

These are awesome. My new fav dish!! I'm thinking they are what's for dinner again tonight😊

Sarinanicole 3 months ago

Cajun Chicken & Penne Pasta

I have been going to Cuckoos Nest for 30 years. It is our go to food and we often refer to it as our home cooking as we used to eat their at least once a week. We now our keeping up with our comfort food with their curbside pickup. I have had most items on the menu and it was hard to pick just one (the original nachos are by far the best in the state, their house salad is simplistic and amazing! If you like creamy dressing creamy garlic all the way or if like something lighter herbs and spice is my favorite!) However, a favorite of mine for the past 30 years is a dish that has never changed and one you wouldn't expect or think to order from a Mexican restaurant but it is hands down amazing. You can't go wrong with the Cajun chicken penne pasta. It has the perfect combination of everything. You won't have anything like it anywhere! Do yourself a favor and try it, you won't be disappointed!

Nicole4114 3 months ago

Veggie Burrito Verde

I've been here several times (although not as often as I'd like) and ordered several different menu items and they've all been delicious. I'm a vegetarian but love the plates with black beans, rice and plenty of guacamole! Yum! You won't be disappointed. Oh and their drinks are really good too! 😋

Cferwerda 3 months ago

Connecticut Nachos

The CT Nachos are always my top choice.

Slcwivell 4 months ago

Pico De Gallo or Salsa Verde

Best fresh Salsa and homemade corn chips around!! Worth the drive from anywhere on the shoreline!!!

Erva 4 months ago

Steak

The best Mexican food 🥘 n the area. Good portions, good service,good prices! Wait staff friendly and accommodating ❤️This is what we look for when dining out. Always a top place to dine. ....You won't be disappointed!! Erva Willett

Stephlama18 4 months ago

"Taco Truck" Burrito

I order from Cuckoo's nest often, during my work day its the perfect lunch. I love the salads and the taco truck burrito with sweet potato fries. I ordered take out delivery with margaritas to go during covid shut down and it was great! Always great service too. Can't wait to have one of their perfect margaritas in the dining room soon!

Tbouchard23 4 months ago

Burrito Grande

Awesome - loved it

Cathy 4 months ago

Burrito Grande

This is my all-time favorite Chicken Burrito! The spices are perfect and big pieces of chicken. The accompaniments make the dish complete. Love the tamales. Shrimp Flautas are a menu special; I highly recommend!



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

August 2020:
Jo-El, Mick's All American
Mount Joy, PA 

July 2020:
Bronson, Los Dos Potrillos 
Colorado

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA